Brazil’s First World Cup Trophy: A Historical Triumph


Brazil is known worldwide as the country of football, and for a good reason. The South American nation has won the most World Cup titles in history, with a total of five. However, the first trophy that Brazil lifted was a long-awaited triumph that marked the beginning of a footballing legacy. In this article, we will delve into the details of Brazil’s first World Cup trophy and the journey that led to the team’s success.

The Road to the 1958 World Cup

The 1958 World Cup in Sweden was the sixth edition of the tournament, and Brazil had never won it before. The Seleção, as the Brazilian national team is known, had previously participated in four World Cups, reaching the final in 1950, where they were defeated by Uruguay. However, the team’s performance in the 1958 qualifiers was not promising, finishing second in their group behind Paraguay. Nevertheless, they managed to secure their spot in the tournament, along with Chile.

The Brazilian Squad

Brazil’s 1958 squad was composed of talented players, some of whom would become legends of the game. The team was led by Vicente Feola, who had been appointed as the coach two years earlier. The captain was Hilderaldo Bellini, a central defender who would go on to lift the World Cup trophy twice more. The team also featured a young and talented Pelé, who was only 17 years old at the time, as well as other great players such as Garrincha, Didi, and Zagallo.

The World Cup Tournament

The 1958 World Cup was the first to feature a group stage, followed by a knockout stage. Brazil was drawn into Group 4, along with Austria, England, and the Soviet Union. The Seleção won their first match against Austria, with a 3-0 victory. However, they suffered a 0-0 draw against England and needed a win against the Soviet Union in their final group match to advance to the quarter-finals. The Brazilian team delivered, with a 2-0 victory that secured their place in the next stage.

In the quarter-finals, Brazil faced Wales and won 1-0, with a goal from Pelé. In the semi-finals, they faced France, who had eliminated defending champions West Germany in the previous round. The Seleção won 5-2, with goals from Vavá, Didi, Pelé, and Fontaine (own goal). The final was against Sweden, who were the hosts and had previously won the gold medal at the 1948 Olympics. However, Brazil dominated the game, winning 5-2, with goals from Vavá (2), Pelé, Zagallo, and Nils Liedholm (own goal).

The Aftermath

Brazil’s triumph in the 1958 World Cup marked a turning point in the country’s footballing history. The team had finally won the most coveted trophy in football, and they did it in style, playing beautiful and attacking football that would become the hallmark of Brazilian football. Pelé became a worldwide sensation, and his performance in the tournament established him as one of the greatest players of all time. The Brazilian team would go on to win the World Cup four more times, in 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002, cementing their status as the most successful nation in football history.


Brazil’s first World Cup trophy in 1958 was a historical triumph that marked the beginning of a footballing legacy. The team’s journey to the tournament was not easy, and their performance in the qualifiers was not promising. However, they managed to deliver when it mattered, playing beautiful and attacking football that would become

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *