Golden gloves and the contenders


The Golden Gloves are awarded to the goalkeeper who performs best in the FIFA World Cup.

The world’s best goalkeepers have already won this award. Oliver Kahn from Germany, Iker Casillas from Spain, Gianluigi Buffon from Italy, Manuel Neuer from Germany, and others have won this award.

The Golden Gloves award has been given to the best goalkeeper since the 1994 World Cup. This award was given from 1994 to 2006 in honor of Lev Yasin, the former goalkeeper of Soviet Russia, and then it was named the Adidas Golden Gloves.

FIFA’s technical group or technical committee will select the best goalkeeper. Goalkeepers are selected based on their performance, saves, penalty shootouts, and other fields.

In the ongoing World Cup, the goalkeepers performed well from the beginning. Four goalkeepers who have reached the semi-finals are ahead in the race to become the best.

Argentina’s Emiliano Martinez, France’s Hugo Lloris, Croatia’s Dominik Livakovic, and Morocco’s Yassin Bounou performed brilliantly to lead their teams to the semi-finals.

Interest has increased as to who will be the best among these four goalkeepers.

Croatia’s Livakovic performed well to beat Croatia in two penalty shootouts in the knockout stage. He saved three penalties against Japan and one against Brazil.

Similarly, Bounou and Maratinez also performed well in a penalty shootout. Both of them stopped two penalties each.

Hugo Lloris of France has been making some good saves during the game. He is also the captain of France. Argentina and France are playing for the title on Sunday.

The last time in 2018, Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois won the Golden Gloves award.

Germany’s Oliver Kahn is the only goalkeeper to win the Golden Ball and Golden Gloves in the same edition of the FIFA World Cup.

Here are the winners so far.

1994: Michel Preud’Homme (Belgium)

Michel Preud’Homme

1998: Fabien Barthez (France)

Fabian Barthez

2002: Oliver Kahn (Germany)

Oliver Kahn

2006: Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)

Gianluigi Buffon

2010: Iker Casillas (Spain)

Iker Casillas

2014: Manuel Neuer (Germany)

Manuel Neuer

2018: Thibaut Courtois (Belgium)

Thibaut Courtois

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *